1: Finally I didn’t have to go to Lan Xiang!

College entrance examination… failed.

I, Xia Xiao Lan, broke the lowest record in the exam, and I really want to die… 

Look, my IQ wasn’t lower than that of others, so why do I have a shortcoming of memorising when I study? I knew how to answer the questions! But… for every question… I would be wrong for that one to two points.

One to two points, plus one to two points, plus one to two points… and I got the lowest score.

Although dear father never scolded me, it made me more uncomfortable, guilty and ashamed!

I really hope my dear father would scold me, beat me, and then throw me out of the house with a bedding!

Uh… It seems I also didn’t have viability…

“Ding Dong, Ding Dong.” The doorbell rang, and I hurriedly shouted: “I’ll open the door!”

I failed the exam, so I should behave well at home.

I’m most annoyed with the three gus and six pos(1) recently, when they saw my dad, they would ask, how did your daughter fare in the exams~~~

My son was admitted to Tsinghua University~~~

My daughter was admitted to Peking University~~~

Annoying!

What a shameful way to show off!

Seeing a smile on my dad’s face, I felt so uncomfortable. I also really want my dad to raise his head and say, so what! The university my daughter was admitted to was! Oxford!

Ai… Going to Oxford wasn’t possible, but the neweast(New Oriental)**, I could go…

I rushed to the door actively, hoping to make atonements with my diligent hands during summer vacation. 

As soon as the door opened, I was taken aback!

“Fuck!”

What did I just see? Two men in black!

Black suit, black sunglasses, and a black ring on their middle finger with a strange badge pattern like a Bagua(2)! 

They were also wearing earphones like bodyguards!

Two big tall uncles in black stood in front of me with a poker face, looking like door gods! No! More like those loan sharks asking for their money on television!

“How many times have I said! A girl shouldn’t be saying fuck fuck all day long.” Dear father walked out of the kitchen while wiping his hands on his apron, then I heard him say, “Fuck!”

Although he said it very very lightly, I still heard it.

I glanced at him, look, dear father you have also said this word.

However, immediately, I saw the expression on dad’s face turned dignified, he looked straight at the men at the door, and the men also turned their heads to face him: “The time has come, Mr Xia.”

What!? Time!?

I looked at my father in panic! Father! Did you commit a crime!

“Is it time?” Dad asked.

The men in black nodded.

I looked back and forth, dad! Don’t scare me!

Dad looked at me solemnly: “Xia Xiao Lan, go into your room, don’t come out unless I tell you to!”

Dad looked serious, I wasn’t able to disobey! At this moment, dad was as dignified as an emperor.

I looked at his serious face: “Dad, you… are you okay?”

“Go into your room!” He suddenly yelled at me, I was completely stunned, turned my head and ran back to my room. When the door was closing, I saw the two mysterious men in black and dad walking into the living room.

Nervous, my heart was thumping wildly as if someone was beating my chest. It’s more of a worry.

Two mysterious men in black came to our house, how can I not worry?

However, dad had always been law-abiding and had no bad habits, so he shouldn’t have owed any usury. Although mom died early and dad was forced into having a dad and mom’s role, he took very good care of me, and his salary was not bad.

Could it be!

Those two were not loan sharks but people from the country!

It’s over! Did dad really do anything weird in the unit!

No, no he wouldn’t!

Xia Xiao Lan, had your brain fade! Dad had always been upright, how could he do bad things?!

“Pa pa.” I quickly slapped myself, I really am brain fade, no wonder I did so poorly in the college entrance examination.

In the room, I was anxious. I took a deep breath, secretly cracked the door open, and saw the two men in black handing an envelope to dad!

Envelope!

It really made one’s mind run wild. 

Then, the men in black left, and dad sent them to the door with a calm face, making the atmosphere at home tense.

What did the men in black mean by “the time has come”?

I walked out the room worriedly, dad had already brought the food to the table, and I sat down well behaved. Dad kept silent, and didn’t move his chopsticks. 

Then, he picked and placed a piece of chicken into my bowl: “Eat, this is the last time Dad will cook for you…”

“Dad! Did you commit a crime! How could you be so unfaithful! Let’s hand over the things, and surrender now in order to be shown mercy.”

“Pa!” Dear father was angry, he threw his chopsticks, and his eyebrows twitched: “If your brain was used well on your exams, how can you fail! Always thinking so wildly! Good! Now I will give you a chance to run wild!”

“Pa!” Dear father threw out an envelope, I recognised at a glance that it was the envelope given to him from the men in black. However, at that time, I was far away and could only see white. Now, I could see a faint silver on the envelope like a pattern of flowing clouds, and there was an ancient vermilion badge on the seal. I recognised the badge, it was also on the ring of those in black!

Holy! I should be a detective!

“This is a university, pack your things tonight, and they will pick you up tomorrow!” Dear father said dully, as if not wanting to see me go.

“University?!” I looked at him in surprise, “Why are you unhappy about, it’s a university.”

“Because I didn’t want you to go!” Dad suddenly became sad.

I flattened my lips: “Then… You want me to go to New Oriental to drive an excavator?”

“Which is why I am letting you go!” Dad looked very entangled, and I felt guilty while looking at him: “I’m sorry dad, don’t be sad, I know that you are reluctant for me to leave, but which children go to university with their parents? I will give you a call everyday, ok?!” I looked at him with a grin, great! Finally I didn’t have to go to New Oriental!

But…how did I get into this university? Dad actually said that someone will come to pick me up!

Dad looked at me, worried and hesitating: “You won’t understand! Anyways, since you are going, be careful.”

His words made me feel even more strange! It made my heart perturbed.

When parents send their children to school, don’t they all usually say study hard and eat well? Or, don’t rush to fall in love, don’t live with a boy or something, why would dad tell me to be careful?

“Dad, that’s not right, where is the university? How come someone will pick me up? Why is it tomorrow? Isn’t it still summer vacation? It’s still early to leave for school.” I asked like a Lianzhu cannon. 

“Because of the examination.” Dad’s expression suddenly became serious, “The admission to this university is very unique, so you need to enter early, take the entrance exam, and, Xiao Lan, this university…” Dad suddenly stopped, a trace of nostalgia appeared in his eyes, and he looked at the picture of mom on the wall, “It’s your mom’s university.”

“Mom’s university!” I exclaimed and jumped in surprise, but dad’s expression became more solemn…

I didn’t know why my dad became so worried after I got an offer to a university, but this time, I must seize this opportunity, and can’t let my handsome, brilliant and youthful dear father down again!

Back to the room, I took out the envelope, wanting to open it, but it was strange! I had no idea what this envelope is made of, it just won’t open! It looked like paper, but it couldn’t be open whether it’s torn or cut.

It’s so mystical!

Forget it, go to bed first, it’s more important to raise my spirits and give the teachers a good impression tomorrow!

The next day, I got up early, put on my backpack, and left the room.

Dad looked at me and was surprised: “That’s all?”

I smiled: “En! Just this! Your daughter will definitely study hard and not let you down!”

A complicated expression appeared in dad’s eyes, he clasped my shoulders and looked at me sincerely, I thought he would definitely say: Study hard…

“This time, don’t try too hard…”

Dad, with a complicated expression, took out a small black jewelry box from his pocket. On the jewelry box was also the strange Bagua heraldry.

What’s going on? Why did dad also have a thing with this heraldry?

“Xiao Lan ah, try not to get selected, if you do, wear this. This belonged to your mother.” Dad opened the black box in front of me, inside was a necklace, and at the end of the necklace was a crystal, looking a bit like a cross and a bit like a sword-shaped pendant.

This pendant was a little strange, it seemed that there was something flowing in the crystal, and when I wanted to look at it clearly, “Ding Dong.” The doorbell suddenly rang, dad hurriedly stuffed the box into my hand, and seriously said: “Keep it safe! Also, don’t let others know who your mother is.” After he spoke, he opened the door, and outside stood the two men in black.

“You guys take her away.” Dad seemed to say goodbye to me, pushed me out forcefully, and when I staggered out of the door, “thump!” Dad closed it.

Suddenly I had a strange feeling, like I’m being taken away forever.

All this is really weird!

Why did dad tell me not to let others know who my mom is?

When I went downstairs with anxiety, I was shocked by the sight in front of me! It can be said that I’m dumbfounded.

For a long time, I only knew that college entrance examination champions would be snatched by prestigious schools, but never had I heard of a private car coming to pick them up. 

But, I! Have!

It’s also black, and obviously a luxury car. It was parked right in front of me, the logo of the luxury car was also that mysterious badge.

Does this organisation own the cars?

The men in black sent me into the car. In the luxury car, I didn’t dare to speak, because the two men were staring at me like I’m a prisoner, making me extremely nervous while I held on to my mother’s jewelry box.

The luxury car drove to the airport and did not stop. Instead, it drove directly into another special passage, passed through the security check, and stopped in a separated waiting room.

The man in black opened the door for me and I got out of the car. When I raised my head, I saw a black plane with a Bagua badge!

Black fuselage, silver patterns looking like auspicious clouds, and mysterious badge patterns on the wings!!

What the hell!

Did my dear father and mother have any hidden identities! 

Which university, so flaunting!

A private car!

There’s people to send you!

And there’s a private plane!

(1)Meddling women
**Direct translation for New Oriental is neweast

(2)

***
Oh no, I am having a bad habit of picking up novels but this is really good 😦

ToC > Next

Leave a comment